kalanihodge

A great WordPress.com site

Sports!

on May 14, 2015
Peace to the full brace.

Peace to the full brace.

Hi I’m Kalani and today I will be talking about three things.

Firstly, my class has been training for a frisbee tournament. The tournament was near Biarritz airport. We got there by bus and it lasted for three hours. Our class was split into teams but then the class competed with other classes from other schools.

In my team I had Auria, Stella, Elise, Prune and me. We won all four matches and overall our school won! It was a lot of fun. Mum forgot to pack me food but it didn’t matter because almost everyone except for two people forgot to pack food so they both shared it with us.

After the frisbee tournament we went back to school. Almost everyone in the school does a thing called NAP. It’s like afternoon activities but it is done in the school. So for my NAP, I do Capoeira. Capoeira is Brazilian martial arts. I learnt how to do kicks and I enjoyed it. After capoeira, I went straight to my judo class. It is a lot of sport for one day!

Secondly, I went to somebody’s birthday party. Her name is Adeline but we call her Addy. I know Addy from gymnastics. It was really nice of her to invite me and my sister because we only see her for 2 hours every week. Her party was awesome! We stayed in the pool all day because it was hot, 33 degrees. There was only 1 other girl from gymnastics and the rest were from her school, I guess. We were supposed to do karaoke and play games but it was too hot so it was good to play in the pool. Her cake was amazing! We all got a slice of cheesecake, chocolate cake and ice cream. I called it a 5 star restaurant dessert.

At Addy's house.

At Addy’s house.

Mini burgers and sausage rolls for Addy's birthday party.

Mini burgers and sausage rolls for Addy’s birthday party.

The final and most exciting thing I want to talk about is my shoulder. I was doing a back flip at gymnastics and Addy was supposed to be helping me but she accidentally made me fall and I twisted my left shoulder. As soon as I did it, it really hurt and I cried. Bidou, my gymnastics instructor told me to sit down. They put ice on it and bandaged it with a scarf. When my mum came, Bidou told my mum to take me straight to hospital. We went to Sab’s house because mum didn’t know where the hospital was and needed help in translating what I did in french. Sab came to the hospital with us and we left Cohen and Tahina with Richard. We went to Biarritz emergency and they took some x-rays. It’s the second time I’ve had an x-ray. The first time I had an x-ray was on my hand when I fell off my trampoline. Anyway, I went to the radiology department. He took x-rays of my shoulder and the result was that I didn’t have any fractures and I didn’t pop any bones out of place. The doctor then examined me and because it hurt in certain spots, she said I twisted my clavicle when I was bending backwards and fell! I am now in a brace and my shoulder really hurts when I move in certain ways. Right now it is really hurting and mum gave me Advil which is a pain killer. I have to have my brace on for 10 days. I like the brace because it’s cool but it is annoying when I’m doing school work or eating. For example, I can’t cut paper and rule a line so Matteo  who sits next to me has to help me and someone has cut up my food.

My shoulder hurts but I like the brace.

My shoulder hurts but I like the brace.

My shoulder hurts but Sab is making it better.

My shoulder hurts but Sab is making it better.

I'm really scared.

I’m really scared.

Peace to the full brace.

Peace to the full brace.

Dad hasn’t seen it yet but he is coming back in four hours. I can’t wait to show him. By the way my mum has typed all this out for me because I can’t type.

Leave a Reply

